Putting Brother ineaux to bed

Light Night seems light years ago now, but due to some massive upheavals at ineaux towers I’ve not had chance for my customary review of proceedings. So here goes…

Setup seemed to take an age, the best part of 2 days on and off. In the process I got soaked to the skin several times and thought I’d broken one of the fancy (read expensive) projectors I’d hired, but it was well worth it and not just for the end result. Leeds Uni amazingly trusted me with keys to their roof and tower, meaning I was free to come and go as I pleased and enjoy the amazing views as I did so. I was even treated to a double, at times treble, rainbow whilst up there.

If you’re interested in the technical details, in essence there were 2 projectors projecting a double width extended desktop. The visuals were running through vj software Resolume, which allowed me to move the head side to side, and trigger a short video loop in response to my voice. That was how the lip synching worked. Audio was transmitted to a series of radios, plugged into some modified megaphones for those authentic authoritarian instructions.

What was it all about? The central premise was an imagined capitalist dystopia, where consumption and conformity rules were enforced by men from the Ministry, with Brother ineaux as their mouthpiece. Simples! There were also nods to Shepherd Faireys Obey project, in which he imagined Andre the Giant as a counter-cultural Big Brother. Hence the scrolling OBEY sign, which was also ideal for setup and testing.

On the night it all worked a treat and I had some great feedback. I’d not practised my rants, just working out the basic concepts of what I wanted to say, and then going for it freeform on the night. I think I got better as I went on.

Unfortunately I think that as the night went on the radio reception slipped a little so it became increasingly unclear what I was saying, but then again some folk thought that added to the appeal of it.

Then a strange thing happened. Around 10pm it was like someone flicked a switch and the self obsessed, destructive, conformist society I’d been parodying came to life before my eyes. This was personified in the fact that some really drunk idiots, flyering for the Quilted Lhama underneath one of the megaphones decided to have a pop at it. After much trying they eventually managed to climb up and pull down the radio, though not without some difficulty as the whole thing was cable tied to the sign on the lamp-post. Massively pissed off I sought out the Night Porter, who I needed to let me out of the building, stormed down and demanded the radio back whilst giving them a piece of my mind. They were too drunk to care. I retired to my lofty viewpoint, and Brother ineaux had a change of heart, a proper road to Damascus conversion! So strange how life imitated art. In the end, I just let the OBEY sign scroll for a while, and nipped up to the roof for a satisfying smoke whilst basking in the glory of it all.

You probably haven’t seen the last of Brother ineaux, it was too much work for a single install. I reckon he would be ideal for issuing useful instructions to festival goers in the middle of the night, but until then, it’s back to the proper YouTube Jockey night job!

Here’s some video of the night, apologies for ruining some top quality footage (Thanks to Lisa Loco & Dave Lynch)…

And lifting the ineaux curtain, heres some raw behind the scenes footage in which you can hear the rants I was working up…

5 thoughts on “Putting Brother ineaux to bed

  1. Modern bedding has to fit into our modern lifestyles and provide for easy care as well as comfort. Of course, doing laundry does take time, but you shouldn’t need to spend any extra time making bedding for the modern bed look nice

  2. Pingback: A good run in the cup | Re#

  3. Pingback: A good run in the cup | tim ineaux

  4. Undeniably consider that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be at the internet the easiest factor
    to remember of. I say to you, I certainly get irked whilst other folks think about
    worries that they just do not recognise about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest
    and defined out the whole thing with no need side effect , people could
    take a signal. Will probably be again to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

