Is there life on Video View?

Last week was the first I’ve missed a post since I started blogging, so time for a quick catchup…

What did you miss? Well, almost without exception, you missed the last Video View. I can say that with a fair degree of certainty as it was pretty quiet. Ok, deathly quiet, peaking at 6 people in the audience, and two of those were just looking for somewhere to leave their empty drinks glasses. Why you wouldn’t want to be inside watching films about Space on a sunny bank holiday Saturday evening I have no idea, but you didn’t.

Unfortunately I wasn’t even joined by the months guest curator @spaceacademy who was struck down with the flu. So, for the first hour and a bit I was completely on my own. Yee ha! Space theme went right out the window as I mixed up whatever I fancied, fusing songs about being eaten by sharks & cricket (that’s songs about cricket, not songs about being eaten by Jiminy Cricket) with cowboy jazz & Mexican funk.

I had all the fun I can tell you. You did possibly have to be there, but here’s a bit of a taster…

When an audience did arrive I felt duty bound to amuse them with some Space related content whilst they used the roving laptop to make some sterling suggestions for all things Spacey. Credit where it’s due, @spaceacademy had some great stuff lined up, including this bang on Burroughs cut up “Ah Pook”…

Still, it was only a matter of time before we left this high culture behind and fell into a low orbit around several well loved sci-fi shows, with contributions from Star Trek…

… this great re-imagining of a Hitchhikers Guide to Daleks…

… and the obligatory Star Wars contribution…

I threw in some of my favourite mashups from the Symphony of Science series, which were roundly trumped by this deft re-edit of Prof Brian Cox…

You get the picture, many many more of these sci-fi related fripperies were watched in geeky amusement. All in all it was a great night, I had a blast along with some friends old and new. What more could you want?!

Leave a Reply

