Live viral mashup for Video View

You know how it goes, you start out with a little light romance, enjoy a few drinks and the sap starts to rise….  you guessed it, I’m talking Video View: Cupid & Valentine. I’ll be easing us in gently as folk arrive and before the audience choices start flooding in, then picking things up again with a late night set dedicated to the jiggy jiggy. I’m super excited about my plans, which largely focus on a live mash up of a US Navy cartoon about venereal disease….

Yep, you heard me right. Apparently the Navy decided back in groovy 1973 that they needed a humourous take on health & safety videos, the resulting cartoon “The Return of Count Spirochete” is a work of wonky genius. You can check it out here if you have a spare 20 mins, or come along Friday. I’ll be playing it all out, cut n blended with lots of other stuff.

I’m not going to spoil too many of the highlights, but there’s one pretty obvious mash which I couldn’t resist. Hightail it to around 8.20 in the cartoon, and you’ll see why Elvis’ “Burning Love” is the obvious choice.

Leave a Reply

