All points on the NSFW spectrum

With just over a week to go, it’s time to dig out some classic Hexstatic rehashes to wet your collective whistles for their FREE SHOW on the 24th. I’m kicking off with the incredibly subtle “The Horn”. I had this on a mixtape years ago, and it was only via repeated listens that I realised exactly what the audio samples are. Clearly I lead a sheltered life! Similarly it took me ages to work out exactly what the score is with the video. At first I wasn’t that impressed I have to be honest, until I realised exactly what was going on. Take a close look and I’m sure you’ll work it out.

This is a great one to play out and quietly subvert polite company! It’s part of my ‘jiggy jiggy’ playlist, which contains lots of stuff that I have to think twice about my audience before playing. Here’s a couple more from that playlist, which straddle the “Not Safe For Work” category. The first is similarly subtle number, which hints at the crudest of sideshows. Its “Michelle Plays Ping Pong” from Daisy Daisy on Sunday Best Recordings.

The next has to be the most avidly watched video I’ve ever played out! Genuinely, I’ve never seen an entire audience so focussed on the screens, both ladies and gents. Its Norman Cooks latest project The BPA, with “Toe Jam”. I’ve spoken to a man who knows, who tells me that, for obvious reasons, there is no uncensored version…

Leave a Reply

